The eye of the beholder

Everything has beauty, but not everyone sees it. – Confucius

Yesterday I had the opportunity to attend the Premiere Beauty Show held at the Orange County Convention Center.  I was there doing PR work for a client, not because I am a service provider.  After fighting traffic to get there, and attempting to solve the maze called parking at the Convention Center, I finally made my way in.

I was overwhelmed by the number of exhibits, products, competitions and attendees.  We are clearly a society preoccupied with our looks.  The Convention floor was filled with beautifully made up and coiffed ladies (and a few men) making their pitch to existing and potential clients and service providers that outdid each other by using their skills and creativity to present themselves as a live business card.  From the  moderate to the extreme.

 

At the end of the day, I was very happy to have attended.  It was at the very least interesting.  I came away with a bag of goodies, a new perspective on beauty and a new name on my name tag.

Name tag reads Plain-Jayne-O

Share your thoughts

