1 out of 22

I was born into a family that collectively gifted me with 22 aunts and uncles.  Some played a greater role in my life than others, but I am glad to have had the opportunity to spend time with each and every one of them at some point in my life.

Today, my father’s youngest sister passed away after an unexpected health issue; she would have celebrated her 95th birthday in 10 days. Aunt Martha was the epitome of unconditional love.  Although she had no children of her own, she was instrumental in raising nephews, nieces, grand-nephews and grand-nieces, and we are all better people because of her.

Thank you Tia Marta for all the years of being my confidant, for giving me the encouragement I needed when I doubted my abilities to mother,  for lifting me up when I thought I wasn’t worthy, for the best hugs when we visited, for scolding me when I needed it, for making the best croquetas ever, and for always having an open door.  You will be missed.

Share your thoughts

