National Banana Split Day – August 25

One of my favorite childhood memories is of my father meticulously making me my favorite Sunday treat…a banana split!  My father owned a soda shop, also known as a fountain store, when I was a child and took great pride in making all those delicious fountain drinks and treats that were so popular back in the 50’s and 60’s.  I vividly remember the rep from Breyers Ice Cream coming to the store to teach my family the correct ratios to create all the wonderful floats, milk shakes, ice cream sundaes, and the most cherished Banana Split.

So, join me in celebrating National Banana Split day and indulge in one today!  🙂

 

 

Share your thoughts

